Zoning Board of Appeals

Current Members: 

Name Position  Contact  Term
Harvey Creech Member   Appointed: 12/2021
Term Expiration: 5/15/2024
Mary Hall-Rayford Member


Term Expiration: 5/15/2022
Shirley Peak  Member (Secretary)   Appointed:
Term Expiration: 5/15/2022
Cliff Wilson Member cliff.wilson.tech@gmail.com Appointed: 
Term Expiration: 5/15/2022
Tonia Gladney Member  electmsgladney@gmail.com Appointed: 6/2021
Term Expiration: 5/15/2023
Stefanie Swierkosz Member stefanie.swierkosz@gmail.com Appointed: 12/2021
Term Expiration: 5/15/2023
Alexander Stokes Member agstokes@agstokesconstructionco.com Appointed: 12/2021
Term Expiration: 5/15/2023
Derrick Aidan Hudson, Sr. Alternate    Appointed: 12/2021
Term Expiration: 5/15/2023
Jeff Lubeck Alternate jllubeck@gmail.com Appointed: 12/2021
Term Expiration: 5/15/2024
Dennis Szymanski Building Official/Staff Liaison dszymanski@eastpointecity.org  
Richard Albright City Attorney ralbright@ihrieobrienlaw.com  


The board may act on matters for an administrative review, interpretation, exception or special approval permit and may authorize a variance. The board may hear and decide appeals where it is alleged by the appellant that there is an error in any order, requirement, permit, decisions or refusal made by the building department, planning commission or any other administrative official or body in carrying out or enforcing it.

Review the full Ordinance


Members are appointed by the Mayor, subject to approval of Council. 


Members appointed shall serve for a term of three years. 


Third Thursday of the Month at 7:00 p.m. at Eastpointe City Hall. 
Meetings are currently being conducted virtually, pursuant to the City of Eastpointe Resolution No. 21-1920, that allows for meetings to be conducted remotely due to the hardships imposed by the COVID-19 pandemic. 
 Click here to join the Zoning Board of Appeals Meeting on Zoom